Project Description

KITZBÜHEL & Alpine Region | Issue 04 | Autumn 2017 Text: Klaus Dörre

The canoe-carver: top innovation from Tyrol. More speed, more nimbleness, more performance. MANTA, an extravagant kayak tool with turbo performance for precision-technicians – with models for world cup pros, as well as for ambitious amateurs.

A passion for fine design drives Ed Wolfhardt’s everyday working life as designer and owner of his own advertising and design office. A love of kayak slalom racing brought him the title of vice-world champion and 26 Austrian championship titles in slalom, downriver and 10.000 m flatwater.

New kayak hardware

Daring to actually design a new boat, he now supplies functional, breathtaking kayak hardware designs for MANTA through mature, tried-and-tested innovative developments distilled from his own world competition experience.
Top pros such as Ajda Novak, team European Champion 2017, already swear by this new “missile“ on the water, particularly because (thanks to intricate optimising of paddle and boat) it guarantees far greater stability not only in straight-ahead kayaking, but in the crucial eddies and swirls following maneuvers through the rocks, with less sideways drift, less slipping and sliding, more acceleration.

More power, more speed

The patented “Ergonomic Carving Radius (ECR)” is what lies behind it. The result: more speed coming out of the eddies. “It was our goal to create a kayak that saves energy by replacing the fins which no longer conform to the rules, but still fulfils all the regulations of the International Canoe Federation (ICF)”, is the way Ed Wolffhardt explains his ingenious concept.

The overall MANTA concept

Intelligent details such as removeable netted seat and cool design, functional sport clothing, complete the overall MANTA concept. MANTA – with support from the Innovation Fund of the State of Tyrol – was developed as a model for training and the World Cup. The sandwich-style epoxy resin boats are manufactured in Croatia; sales partners are in Germany, Slovenia, Spain / Andorra and France.

Contact

MANTA Austria
Ed Wolffhardt
Dorfstraße 24
A-9905 Gaimberg
T +43 (0)664 385 04 83
ed@canoecarving.com
www.canoecarving.com

Projektbeschreibung

KITZBÜHEL & ALPENRAUM | AUSGABE 04 | Herbst 2017 Text: Klaus Dörre

Der Kajak-Carver: Die Top-Innovation aus Tirol. Mehr Speed, mehr Wendigkeit, mehr Leistung, weniger seitlicher Drift. MANTA, ein extravagantes Kajak-Werkzeug mit Turbo-Leistung für Filigrantechniker, Weltcup-Profis und ambitionierte Amateure.

Zwei Seelen wohnen – ach! – in seiner Brust. Die Passion für gute Gestaltung füllt Ed Wolfhardts Berufsalltag als Designer und Inhaber eines Design-Büros. Die Liebe zum Kajakslalom führte ihn zum Vize-Weltmeistertitel und zu 26 österreichischen Meistertiteln in Slalom, Abfahrt und Kajak Zweier (10.000 m Flachbahn).

Neue Kajak-„Hardware“

Da bei ihm – wie bei vielen wirklich Kreativen – der Ideenreichtum keine (Kategorie-)Grenzen kennt, wagte er sich an das Essential des Kajaksports: das Boot selber … Jetzt sorgt er auch bei der Kajak-„Hardware“ mit MANTA für atemberaubendes und funktionales Design. Mit einer ausgereiften, aus der eigenen erfolgreichen Wettkampf-Praxis heraus entwickelten Innovation.

Top-Profis wie Ajda Novak, Team-Europameisterin 2017, schwören bereits auf das neue „Geschoss“. Besonders, weil es – dank ausgetüftelter Optimierungen am Bootskörper – nicht nur bei der Geradeaus-Fahrt mehr Stabilität garantiert. Gerade im Kehrwasser nach Felsen gewährleistet es weniger Drift nach außen, weniger „Rutschen“ und mehr Beschleunigung, weil das Design des Bootes die Kraft des Wassers selbst besser dafür nutzt.

Mehr Power, mehr Speed

Der patentierte „Ergonomic Carving Radius“ (ECR) ist dafür verantwortlich. Er reicht diagonal bis zur Wasserlinie. Das Paddeln auf der Innenkante reduziert die seitliche Drift. Das Resultat: mehr Speed bei der Ausfahrt aus Wasserwirbeln und -strudeln. „Unser Ziel war es, ein Kajak zu schaffen, der Energie spart, indem er die inzwischen nicht mehr regelkonformen Flossen ersetzt und dennoch die Vorgaben der International Canoe Federation (ICF) erfüllt“, erläutert Ed Wolffhardt sein geniales Konzept.

Das MANTA Gesamtkonzept

Intelligente Details wie ein herausnehmbarer Sitz aus Netzmaterial und cool designte, funktionale Sportkleidung komplettieren das MANTA-Gesamtpaket. MANTA wurde mit Unterstützung der Innovationsförderung des Landes Tirol als Trainings- und als Worldcup-Modell realisiert. Die Produktion des in Sandwichbauweise aus Kohlefaser und Epoxi-Harz gefertigten Bootes befindet sich derzeit noch in Kroatien. Vertriebspartner gibt es bereits in Deutschland, Slowenien, Spanien / Andorra und in Frankreich.

Kontakt

MANTA Austria
Ed Wolffhardt
Dorfstraße 24
A-9905 Gaimberg
T +43 (0)664 385 04 83
ed@canoecarving.com
www.canoecarving.com